A study shows that a lot of children from the age 7 to 11 spend too much time watching television or playing video games. How do you think this problem influences the children, their families and the society? What measures should be taken to solve it?

The issue of television and video games, especially the time that children spend on these technologies has provoked much concern among people. Thus, it is the aim of this essay to elaborate on the consequences and propose solutions to tackle it.

Children wasting time on television and video games causes a variety of corollaries. Firstly, the children’s health is affected enormously. To be more specific, if children devote a great amount of time to watching television or playing games, they will become lethargic and idle. As a consequence, they stand the risk of suffering from obesity and visual impairment. The United States serves as a perfect example of this problem. Reportedly, the rate of obesed children is recorded to have tripled in recent years with the advent of modern television and video games. What can be inferred from this is that television and game boxes are the root cause of children’s becoming inactive and indolent. Furthermore, in terms of effect on family and society, this situation results in the alteration of the children’s behavior. In other words, watching too much television fosters children to develop an introverted attitude to not only their family but the society as well. Hence, they become socially isolated, which is a detrimental disadvantage for them in the future.

However, there are many effective measures to retard the situation becoming worsen. The first method is to prepare a schedule of activities for children. Parents and children need to discuss together so as to plan a suitable timetable, in which the time on television is allocated equally to the physical activities. Then, parents must be responsible for ensuring that their children follow the pattern. This method has been proved to be effective in cities which have a high percentage of children suffering from fatness. Moreover, the schools and governments should be involved in dealing with this matter. Specifically, the curriculum should have more lessons relating to sports and schools should also hold more sports competitions in order to encourage children to take up more activities; meanwhile, the governments had better pass laws on the children’s screen time. Take China as an illustration, this country has recently limited children’s time on the Internet so as to help them concentrate on their study and physical activities. This solution is then applied in some countries due to its effectiveness.

In conclusion, there are numerous major problems caused by the exaggerated use of television in children’s lives relating to themselves, their family and the society. Consequently, parents, schools and governments are in charge of accompanying their children to handle this matter.