New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When the issue of leisure, especially new technologies comes into issue, there exist conflicting opinions. Many people hold the notion that these technologies bring enormous benefits to children, while others believe that they have caused children to change their lifestyle negatively. This essay aims at discussing both sides before presenting my opinion.

On the one hand, new technologies are advantageous to children. Thanks to these new machines, children are able to satisfy themselves with various kinds of entertainment. To be more specific, in their free time, children have many choices for entertaining purposes such as listening to music, playing video games and watching television instead of doing only one leisure activity. Moreover, these latest technologies are helpful in teaching children life skills. In other words, when children are exposed to some healthy games, for example, cooking or motor-racing, they are able to learn these skills better. A study in Australia has proven that when kids are introduced to play these games, most of them have the ability to acquire more knowledge and excel at these skills. What can be inferred from this is that recent technologies are beneficial to children.

On the other hand, these above-mentioned pros are overshadowed by the following cons. Firstly, this leads to the alteration in behaviors of children towards their families and society. Specifically, if they are exposed frequently to computers or game boxes, they stand a high risk of isolating themselves from the crowd. As a result, this becomes a drawback for them in the future. Furthermore, new technologies have detrimental effects on children’s health. The massive exposure to electronic devices can lead to the development of a passive lifestyle in children. Consequently, they may become not only idle and insolent, but they can also suffer from some incurable diseases such as obesity and visual impairment. Take the USA as an illustration. Reportedly, the rate of obese children in this country has been recorded to tripled since the advent of new technologies. This directly suggests that children are easily prone to a great number of health problems if they spend too much time on robotics and computers.

In conclusion, although new technologies are advantageous to children, their weak points should not be ignored. From my perspective, the disadvantages of these technologies overshadow the advantages as they are the root cause of society isolation and some diseases in children. If these problems are solved by the governments, families and children themselves, new technologies are absolutely great inventions for not only children but human beings as well.