Task 2: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that nowadays many people use alternative medicines and treatments to cure their health problems instead of visiting the doctor as usual. In my opinion, I think that this is a negative development and I believe that people should visit the doctor for their health problems instead of self-medicating

On the one hand, there are several reasons why more people with health issues are experimenting with alternative medications and therapies. Firstly, some people will feel not comfortable and shy when coming to a strange place or they meet face-to-face with doctors to cure their health. For example, my brother is a shy person and he hates visiting the doctor like others, so my parents have to buy some medicines and treatments for him to use alternative. Secondly, the cost of visiting their usual doctor can waste a lot of money, however, buying medicines and treatments to use alternatives can be convenient and save people money. Overall, many people alternative medicines and treatments because they want to save their money and don’t want to come to a strange place or meet strange people.

On the other hand, I believe that people should visit the doctor if they have health issues instead of attempting alternate medications and therapies. To begin with, people can easily use some drugs or treatments that are not good if people are careless. This will be very dangerous and can affect their health a lot. However, if people go directly to the doctor to cure their health problems, this will more safety for people and they can have more good medicines or treatments from the doctor. For instance, my sister has serious health issues and since she visits to doctor, she health has improved more thanks to efficient medicine and treatment from the doctor. Hence, going to the doctor can be better than trying to use alternative medicines or treatments.

In conclusion, although using medicine or therapies can have benefits for people, it seems to me that it will be better if people go to the doctor.