Task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments

rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that scientific research has had a considerable bearing on the development of human race. However, people remain divided over who had better carry out and control this kind of project as a sheer number of ethical issues are causing quite a stir. While there are some arguments in favor of the research being conducted at a private level, others argue that it has to be funded and supervised by the governments. I concur with the latter view.

It is understandable why some advocate private corporations to develop their own research. The key rationale for this point is that private companies know their products better than anyone else. It is not to mention that they have applied themselves to study customer’s preference, thus can provide products that best meet consumers’ demand. Nevertheless, as the ultimate goal of any corporation is profit maximization, this would lead to some moral hazard. Companies in cosmetic industry perfectly exemplify this situation. In order to acquire first mover advantages, many companies risk launching their products without adequate trials. A lot of scandals had arisen out of such immoral behaviors as many claimed they suffered from side effects such as itchy and even burnt skin which could have a heavy toll on both customers’ heath and companies’ brand awareness.

Instead of the aforementioned approach, I believe it would make more sense to leave scientific studies under the administration of the governments. Firstly, governments’ operational goals lie solely on the well-being of the whole society which is why moral hazard is less likely to be committed. By allocating recourses to different universities to carry out the research, governments can set standard and regulations then force scientists at these universities to follow them. In addition, as governments have a more panoramic view on a much larger macro scale, they could address the urgent and imminent problems their country may encounter in the future and can prioritize fund to go into these areas, developing renewable energy and tackling global warming are just 2 cases in point.

To sum up, I am convinced that when it comes to scientific research, social welfare must be the driving force instead of profit maximization. That is why I strongly agree with the view that research projects should be run by the officials solely.