Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments

rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the highly controversial issues today regards whether scientific research should be patrolled by the public administration or entrusted to private companies instead. I partially agree with both points of view and I believe the best solution should be a compromise between the two due to several reasons that I will discuss in detail in my essay.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that governments are the institutions which should provide for the scientific progress of the country. Unfortunately, not every administration has the economic possibilities to do so, unless it cuts the funds of other important areas of the economy such as the Health Care System or Education. Ideally, the governments should control the agencies who carry out the researches and provide the greatest scientists in the country, but public money is not invested in this important field. Governors prefer to use public money to fund other institutions and projects, such as already new highway renovations or the building of new skyscrapers in the biggest cities, instead of focusing on what is really fundamental.

That is the main reason why, on the other hand, there is who believes that scientific research should be regulated by private companies. The owners' of these companies not only have enough financial resources, but they also desire to be recognized as those who funded a brilliant scientific discovery. To do so, they are willing to create, fund and patrol major researches. A good illustration of this is the different already existing foundations created by wealthy people to subsidize scientific progress, for example, those for the prevention of cancer. But these associations can't function without the government's approval, so it is essential that the two collaborate.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel that the only logical conclusion is that the advantages brought by private companies in scientific research outweigh the disadvantages of having private citizens involved. Hence, I am inclined to believe that the public administration and private companies should collaborate and cooperate to compensate for one another's lacks.