Task 2. Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread belief that young people should pursue their studies at university and college in order to move up to a career ladder. Nonetheless, other people also argue that finding a job after school is a better way to get ahead in life. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that continuing to study after higher school education is much better.

On the one hand, getting a job after graduating from high school may possess some notable benefits. The first advantage is that people can earn money as soon as possible. In some developing countries, many youngsters find difficulty in pursuing higher studies due to their lack of affordability. Thus, earning a living immediately after school is the only way to shoulder the ever-growing financial burden regarding daily consumption and transportation. Moreover, those who choose to get a job instead of continuing to study in college or university are likely to progress rapidly in their career. It is also obvious that this selection can also provide more opportunities for young people to obtain more practical experiences or skills to run their own businesses.

On the other hand, I would also believe that continuing education after high school can endow young people with numerous advantages. Firstly, a university education will provide people with high qualifications, which is what many enterprises expect today. Furthermore, nowadays, university graduates tend to receive much higher salaries compared to those without a university education. Secondly, the job market is becoming more and more competitive. Hence, in order to possess a more competitive edge, individuals have to prove their superior strength compared to other candidates, and a Bachelor's or Master’s degree is one of the most reliable confirmations of their competence.

In conclusion, although both working right after school and choosing to continue higher education are beneficial in their own ways, it seems to me that it is much better the pursuing further study at college or university before finding a job.