Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to go to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold differing views about whether it is better for high school graduates to start working immediately after graduation or spend four or five years at higher education providers. From my point of view, although having employment soon would have some noticeable benefits, receiving tertiary education certainly creates more working opportunities for students.

On the first hand, there are several compelling explanations why landing for a job after school helps facilitate graduates’ ability to be succeed in their chosen fields, and the most convincing one is that in the modern day’s workplace, employers attach greater importance on hands-on experience than academic qualifications. This is attributable to the reality that the way employees solve their arising situations can make him or her eligible for the higher position, and problem-solving skills are usually sharpened in real-life experience, not in academic environment. By way of illustration, high school graduate who decides to start out as a waiter at a local restaurant has more opportunity to strengthen their skills in dealing with complaint from fussy diners; therefore, he may be promoted to the restaurant manager. Meanwhile, a university graduate that spent four to five years pursuing a bachelor’s degree might find it harder to climb to the same level, simply because of his comparatively fewer years of practical experience, which is usually not taught through university lectures.

On the other hand, I am of an opinion that it is more advisable for youngsters who have just left school to spend several years at a higher level of education if they plan on a glorious and prosperous working life. A host of persuasive reasons could be identified, and the one that is well worth mentioning is that nowadays a majority of job hunters have possessed a certain amount of expertise knowledge, which is supposed to be derived through academic training courses at high-educational facilities. Take an example of general practitioner, which is a highly professional job that individuals without allocating four to six years for medical training have no hope to do, let alone to make it to the top. In other words, academically trained graduates might have more employment opportunities than the ones who embark on a career right after high school.

To sum up, students recently have graduated from high school can obtain various benefits from either option: applying their CVs for a job soon after graduation or dedicate four to five years at university lecture halls. Nonetheless, I lean towards the idea that desirable achievement are prone to come with the ones who invest several years of their life in tertiary education.