Task 2: Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that these days, the tendency to impulsively import foods from different parts of the world has been becoming widespread in many countries. Although the ever-increasing volume of such imports may bring some notable benefits for the host countries, I firmly believe this can also lead to several detrimental consequences.

On the one hand, many countries have to promote food imports due to their lack of natural resources. In some African regions, for example, the massive increase in population density means the available cropland is inadequate to meet the demand for food consumption. These tend to be occupied with deserts and mountainous areas, in which natural resources are soon depleted. Furthermore, the harsh climate is also a factor that drives the government to import food, in the case of prolonged drought or excessive cold. Besides, in city centers of developed countries, the requirement for a wide diversity of food of the urban dwellers is ubiquitous, which gradually stimulates the demand for importing novel food sources from other regions. Many European people, for instance, believe that there is nothing more satisfying than eating tropical fruits and rice during winter, even though such foods have to be imported from Asian countries which are thousands of miles away.

On the other hand, an out-of-control importing regime can also exert numerous negative influences. In terms of ecological crisis, in order to alleviate global warming and environmental degradation, national and local authorities need to impose different policies on food miles and the dependence on fossil fuels. Nonetheless, the increasing food imports mean the usage of freight services and heavy transportation is promoted, leading to the growing demand for mineral extraction. From a health-related perspective, food which has to be imported is not fresh. In order to extend shelf life, many giant exporters tend to opt for genetic modification and the addition of different chemical preservatives to their food products, which can cause several degenerative health problems for consumers, including cancers.

In conclusion, although importing a large amount of food can be advantageous in some notable circumstances, I concur with the argument that this trend is contributing to environmental destruction as well as damage to humans’ health.