Task 2: Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate on the importance of sports in our society has never been settled for years. with some people considering them just as a pastime while others emphasize on their crucial impact on human life. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now before declaring a position.

One the one hand, many regard sport activities recreational due to the way they do them. Firstly, they highlight the way sports help to release stress after hard-working weekdays. A soccer match with friends at the weekend, for example, is one of the good choices to alleviate all the pressure from work because the players just want to have fun and do not care about winning. Furthermore, some people choose to play sports with the primary purpose of making new friends and expanding their network. We can see this in the way several join golf clubs where they come to find and discuss promising business opportunities and do not focus on playing.

On the other hand, supporters of sports highlight the way they improve the society as a whole. They point out the improvement of physical and mental health if one plays sports regularly. This not only reduces the likelihood of suffering from diseases, such as obesity or heart trouble, but also results in better work performance with higher productivity. Another merit stemming from doing sport activities frequently is the improved teamwork skills and fighting spirit, which are essential in this competitive world. Several successful people who, in many cases, have played sports since their high school are able to overcome obstacles and stand out in their lives because they possess these critical features.

In conclusion, I feel that while some people can consider sports as a leisure activity as they offer them a way to relax or to serve other personal purposes, these activities in fact greatly benefit individuals and the society in terms of both health and work.