Task 2 : Students should pay the full cost of their own university studies, or rather than have free higher education provided by the state. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people argue that students should take full responsibility for paying their tuition fees at the university. However, I regard that the government should extend free tertiary education.

Firstly, receiving free higher education gives students from all walks of life a chance to have the same educational opportunity. Without state assistance, poor students who have qualifications and potential will lose the opportunity to demonstrate their abilities. If they have free higher education provided by the state, they will focus on the lectures and studying hard, they will get a great deal of knowledge which can bring huge benefits to their country in the future. For example, they can contribute to the development of the economy with new inventions.

The second reason, the students who have the abilities really want to have free university provided by the state. If the students want to have free tertiary school, they have to try their’s best . And when they can do it, they will feel happy and I’m sure that they want to try more, learn more. For example, if you want to have a scholarship, you have to try your best and after you got it, you want to try more to have more scholarships

In conclusion, because free education allows students to learn what they enjoy most and are best at, so they will try to achieve it. Furthermore, free education can reduce unemployment cost in the economic downturn, increase government’s tax revenue, and increase economic growth in the long run. So I agree that the government should extend free tertiary education.