Task 2 :Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent years, online communication between teenagers has been debated in many parts of the world. Although there are conflicting views for the root of this growing trend, there are many solutions to restrict those.

Socialising by online connections which is more preferable than traditional methods might root from at least two crucial causes. Firstly, technological advancement has created a convenient environment for teenagers to not only process technological equipment like cell phones and personal computers but also easily access the Internet and social networks. By all accounts, online communication is unlimited and private, which helps teenagers escape from their parents’ managements about their relationships. Secondly, tasks and homework of their schooling might make them overloaded, which leads to lack of leisure time for face-to-face communication in society. For example, teenagers’ time-spending on education in developing countries has dramatically increased, according to a survey of one Asian press. As a result, they have to use another way to communicate with their friends, by using online tools.

Some simple measures should be implemented to deal with these root causes of online socialisation of teenagers. It is necessary to manage time-using Internet accessible devices. By increasing their parents’ responsibility, time-spending on online communication of teens would be reasonably restricted. Besides, building a reasonable timetable of schooling and homework for their children also plays a crucial role, which would help teens be able to not only complete their tasks in schools but also have leisure time to hang out with their friends in their communities.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems of online socializing in teens that create a positive life.