Teachers used to convey information, but now with wide resources of information, there is no role for teachers to play in modern education. Do you agree or disagree?

It is debated that in the context of the contemporary society, teachers no longer play a pivotal role in education like in the past because of the wide range of information. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly oppose this statement for the following justifications.

On the one hand, some people opine that there are wide resources of information for learners to gain, so they do not need teachers any more. This is because they might estimate teachers as a source of knowledge and nowadays they could absorb knowledge everywhere ranging from the Internets to books. However, this argument should be considered to be short-sighted. It is obvious that these materials of preference could be unreliable due to the fact that they are not subject to censorship. This may lead students into misunderstanding and encounter with distorted information.

On the other hand, teachers would be not only a reliable source of knowledge, but also skilled instructors who were well-trained with pedagogical skills. It is undeniable that teachers are of paramount importance in the cognitive development of a student. They provide students with materials designed by experts as well as teach students many essential skills including information sifting, fact marshalling or even researching methods. As a result, students could enhance their academic performance, which could assist them to go further in their education path. Furthermore, teachers not only educate students with their knowledge, but also by their moral life which could be a role model for students to follow. For example, my lecturer is a devoted psychotherapist who always shows an unconditional love to his patients especially to children. Therefore, I usually look up to him and try all my best to be an excellent expert like him.

In conclusion, despite the fact that nowadays students could have a mixed variety of knowledge sources, they still need teachers as their instructors, ideal models as well as a companion in their life.