In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide education for those who violate the law. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that to tackle the crime, governments should convict criminals with imprisonment. In contrast, some observers adopt a view that re-educating lawbreakers is more effective. From my perspective, I suppose that these two solutions are equally important.

On the one hand, for those who commit serious crimes, including murder, sexual abuse or assault, government should issue strict laws to accuse them in order to steer them away from abiding citizens. If not doing so, they could continue to harm others in the society. Furthermore, this solution could deter people who intend to violate the laws in the future. For example, judges should sentence those who are involved in sexual harassment with a harsh punishment or even life imprisonment so that they could realize that their crime is unforgivable and then after finishing their sentences, they might not recommit.

On the other hand, with petty crimes such as pick-pocketing, shoplifting and vandalism, criminals should be rehabilitated, especially teenage ones. It is indisputable that this kind of law could educate them to differentiate right from wrong and how to resist these temptations. In addition, creating some special vocational courses which aim to provide them with a certificate or a degree would be essential. Therefore, in the future they could have a good job to earn a living, which leads them to avoid breaking the laws. As a result, the criminal rate would decelerate significantly.

In conclusion, imprisonment and rehabilitation would be of paramount importance for the sake of addressing the problem of crime. Governments should take both of these solutions into consideration.