Is teaching people over 65 to use computers the best way to spend government money? To what extent do you agree?

We are living in the golden era of technology, modern devices have become more popular. While some people believe that improving knowledge about computers is the best way to spend the government’s budget, personally I partly agree with this idea because of some reasons.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why spending money teaching older people to use computers is essential. Firstly, technology can help older people in their daily life. Some older people are not able to use computers so the government should invest money to help them attempt courses. By doing so, they will not be outdated and they can approach high technology devices. It helps them entertain and learn a lot of new things such as surfing the internet, reading newspapers and so on. Furthermore, learning new skills is an important way for older people to improve their brain. When learning new skills, especially using high technology devices such as mobile phones or the internet, older people have to use their brain to access new information, by doing so, they can gain more logical-thinking ability. For example, using facebook , people will have to remember some steps to log in their account.

On the other hand, I believe that the government should spend money on other things for older people. Firstly, Instead of teaching them to use computers, the government should invest money on sport activities. Old people will have more opportunities to do exercises. It helps them sustain their strength and become more flexible. For example, the government should organize sports competitions such as football or basketball, by doing so older people can be encouraged to do more out-door activities. Secondly, investing money to upgrade facilities in hospitals or health care systems is an important thing. When people get older they can easily suffer from many diseases like obesity , so they need good healthcare systems. By supporting money to hospitals, patents will have better services, for example, upgrading high technology devices or improving resting beds.

In conclusion, while some individuals believe that teaching older people to use high-tech devices is the best way to spend money, I believe that they should invest money to build up hospital facilities or encourage older people to do more exercises.