technology

A large number of criminals who serve the first prison sentence, leave prison only to re-offend. While recidivism mainly occurs owing to the lack of rehabilitation and difficulties in finding regular employment once released, vocational training and close monitoring would be the solutions to deal with this issue.

Firstly, the reason for most of the first-time offenders committing crimes again, once they have served the punishment, is due to the lack of rehabilitation while they were in prison. In other words, offenders are not given an opportunity to retrain and learn new skills for their future jobs or develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviors for their reintegration. Instead, they mix with other perpetrators who are more likely to strengthen their criminal intentions. Secondly, repeat offending is due to the difficulties in finding employment after being released. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime, regardless of the consequences.

One way to tackle this is giving vocational training which helps law-breakers prepare for the life outside the prison. Indeed, this approach can enable them to learn useful skills for a job, which in turns gives them some means of supporting themselves financially. Moreover, recidivism would be ceased if there is more supervision as well as checks in place when criminals are back to society. As a result, this method would hopefully prevent them from taking any change to break the law again since they are being closely watched.

In conclusion, having vocation training and close observation when first-time offenders are free are effective methods in dealing with re-offending. If governments carry out these solutions, crime figures would soon drop.