Technology is being used more and more in education so there will soon be no role for teachers in education? What extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, in light of increasingly developing technology and robots, there is a concern of the necessity of teachers in academic fields. Although some technology advocates support this idea due to the potential replacement, I am against it and will further explain my viewpoint.

It is understandable why the idea of potentiality to replace teachers’ role with robots is generated. First, it is undeniable that technology seems to become no stranger to human life. That means due to the its inexorable advance , we can easily approach the availabilities of technology due to modernization and digitalization. For example, it is common to use online studying apps which have been preprogrammed with various kinds of lessons such as Duolingo - a linguistic virtual assistant. Second, technology provides more accessibility to academic pursuit in some remote areas. In particular, it is challenging to send teachers to those location which takes much time and effort.

However, I fear that this robotic application might bring more problems than it could address. First and foremost, I strongly believe that teachers are more adaptive to the need of learners which technology devices can hardly replace. That is because robots are taught to transfer all the data which they have already been preprogrammed so they cannot immediately give exact answer to the a side question from student. Moreover, if we completely replace teachers with technology, there will be influence on students’ mental behavior toward studying. To be more specific, teachers are known as the ones who not only transfer the knowledge but also inspire, encourage and excite their students . That means learners can easily lack their motivation if the teacher is now replaced with a robot with systematically speech, which may leads to a fall in productivity.

In conclusion, there is forming an idea of replacing teacher with digital technology in educational setting. Although it is justifiable to some extent, I strongly believe that we should still acquire a deeper appreciation for teachers' role in academic pursuits.