For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While it’s believed that teachers the main factors which are more responsible for intellectual and social development of students than their parents, other people think that parents are more influential. Although both views are valid, I lead towards the latter.

On the one hand, it’s undoubted that teachers play a major role in developing children’s intelligence and social cognition. Teachers are expected to impart the knowledge of particular discipline to their students, which means under the teachers’ s guidance, children have chance to learn about the world, expand their intellectual development. Moreover, when they have problems with their peers at school, teachers are the one who will help them resolve those social situations.

On the other hand, parents exert strong influences on their children, which means parental role is irreplaceable. During the child’s upbringing, parents provide guidance to their children, help them learn necessary skills such as logical thinking or emotion management. In addition, they are always beside their children, support them in facing with their own situations no matter at school or at home. For instance, parents are ideal models in certain situations, includes caring each other, behaviors in public or having healthy self-esteem. Those things are golden preparation for children in the lifelong path.

In conclusion, it’s apparent that teachers are very important in forming a child’s intelligence and social development. However, I think parental values are prime factors in raising a child.