Technology is causing environmental problems. Some people think every person should adopt simple lifestyle changes to solve this issue but others think technology will be a major part of the solution.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology has brought numerous benefits to lifestyls and societies around the world. But with it, a number of environmental problems have been set in motion. Whether technology will ultimately prove the solution to these issues is a highly contentious topic. In this essay, both sides of this debate a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, many believe that individuals should adopt simpler and less technologically-dependent environmental damage. For example, many international grocers like Carrefour have taken steps to encourage people to bring their own bags from home instead of using the plastic ones provided. As a result of this simple lifestyle change, several billion less plastic bags are dumped into landfills every year, which clearly has positive ramification as a whole. Thus, it is understandable why this point of view has garned support.

On the other hand, many people support the notion that one day technology will develop to the point that it is capable of eradicating environmental problems. For instance, recently a new bacteria strain has been developed that can break down toxins produced by rotting garbage in landfills. As these toxins are carcinogenic to humans, the ability for technology to cleanse the environment and regulate itself can be seen. Thus, it is undestandable why many have faith that technological developments will supplant the need for human lifestyle changes.

Following this look at the varying opinions regarding this debate, it is felt humanity should draw form the advantages of both camps when devising a strategy to deal with the environmental problems caused by new technologies. In doing so, it is expected that one day humanity will be able to live harmoniously with nature.