The technology development has affected social relationships from person to person. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Todays, the effects of technology advancements on social relationships have been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the development of technology is not without disadvantages, the merits will justify these.

There are some disadvantages there. First, the availability of communication technologies can potentially fracture human’s concrete relationships. In fact, many people choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peer in the real world, which undermines the quality of relationships. Second, by overusing smart devices, people tend to be less confident in daily conversations. For instance, many social network users admit that they prefer sending messages, chatting via messaging apps to having direct meetings, which could weaken their communication skills in the long – term.

Under no circumstance should the benefits be marginalized. First, since the proliferation of technology makes social networks flourish, people find it easy to keep in touch. In fact, social media such as Facebook and Skype allows users to connect and have a conversation with each other, which promotes social behavior and strengthen social relationships without making any physical travels. Second, by actively participating in social media, the users get socialized more than ever. This means that it is easy for them to make friends with the others who match their interests and lifestyle, which helps them expand their circle of friends.

In conclusion, the advantage will be far more significant. By balancing the time used for technology, people can take advantage of the technology development without having negative effects on their relationships.