Technology provides us a lot of means to communicate. But now that people have the ability to talk to each other in a wider variety of methods, our communication and social abilities have taken a step back

Why does technological advance hurt nontechnical communication?

How can we solve this problem?

Technological breakthrough has brought diverse boons to humanity which enable a comfortable and convenient life. Though the benefits behind the progress are crucial, people are suffering from lack of in-person communication and their social skills are deteriorating. This essay will discuss the reasons of why high-tech advancements exacerbate interpersonal interactions and propose the viable solution to solve this issue.

The modern world provides individuals with myriads of ways to stay in touch with one another via dozens of information technology devices. This means that traditional avenues for thought exchange have been replaced with wireless connection, which in its turn guarantees the convenience for humans. As a species, we crave for simplicity and comfort for our day-to-day activities, therefore gladly opt to plunge into these new ways of communication. For example, many companies bid to arrange even local corporate meetings via Skype, despite being able to schedule ones in a meeting rooms as all the members are in the same premises. In other words, technology has made it simple to talk to others with just a click of a button.

Although, interaction through the above-mentioned advances maybe beneficial in some cases, many of us have lost the human touch as well as social skills. The best way to tackle this problem is considered restriction on mobile devices at workplace. However, in the long run, not only companies’ policies ought to be strict to their employees, but also the authorities should somehow encourage people outside from workspace to develop their socialisation without mobile applications. This means that people who are at close proximity can afford to speak to one another without resorting to technology. Thus, the solutions to overuse of high-tech communication are seen in barring the use of it.

In conclusion, due to the rise of technical advances, human beings have received access to convenience in their interaction. Nevertheless, gaining one benefit often entails losing of another, which in this case is social abilities. The possible solution to curb the abuse of online chat is to limit it at least in professional environment.