Technology is responsible for unemployment To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the contemporary world, technological advancements play an indispensable role in humans’ lives. Therefore, many individuals assume that joblessness is attributable to them. From my observation, I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that state-of-the-art machinery does to blame for the rate of unemployment. Doubtlessly, machines are clearly superior to human labor in terms of productivity, precision and endurance, thereby leading to dispensable occupations requiring the copious number of physical demands, repetition in nature that do not involve much creativity such as construction workers or waiters. To illustrate, worldwide factories are currently prioritizing automation over manual labor as it can exponentially fabricate mass production without any suffocation from productivity. Thus, they will swiftly yield their products and make them accessible to the masses easily.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned evidence, modern devices and equipment do not solely trigger the deprivation of people’s jobs. Firstly, there are other factors that take away humans’ professions besides digital gadgets, namely individuals’ ability. Consequently, that problem will marginalize human labor without any participation in power-driven machinery. Secondly, undermining humans’ place in the workforce has gradually grown during the past century despite the industrial revolution because technology is not utterly capable of swapping out humans at every work aspect and its job is to foster productivity, give people greater flexibility and eliminate unnecessary, repetitious tasks related to humans’ workloads. Hence, the inventions that humans have conceived are not the only reason that makes people redundant from their occupations.

To sum up, digital devices do have the potential to deprive humans of their jobs. Nevertheless, it is over-simplification to say that technology is the cause of the number of jobless individuals. There are other factors that result in losing people’s professions and technology has existed only to assist human workers, not to substitute them.