Technology is responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, it is generally acknowledged that technological advancements are the culprit of the increasing rate of joblessness. While this statement can be accurate to a certain extent, I would argue that the development of state-of-the-art machinery is not the exclusive factor of all unemployment.

On the one hand, technology can partly deprive people of their jobs. Needless to say, modern machines have the virtues of being more productive and precise than human labour significantly. These labour-saving inventions can pose a direct threat to several jobs that materially require both time and effort to tackle all working tasks completely. For instance, with the development of technology in the agriculture industry , the agrimotors have gradually taken the place of various farmers as these have been armed with more efficient and quicker engines for superior products.

On the other hand, I suppose that technological innovations are not thoroughly attributable to the growth of unemployment rates. Thanks to the advent of machinery, new occupations were created, which means that people would embark on job fields relating to the service sector or producing machines. This practice can help numerous countries, especially in Asia, to restructure from agriculture industry to service industry; therefore, these countries can improve sustainably in different facets such as: economy, culture, politics…. Moreover, instead of some automated procedures, the increase of worklessness rates is the cause of competition among people who are seeking job opportunities. For example, in Vietnam, a huge number of teachers nowadays are not employed immediately after graduation because several schools had enough teaching positions.

In conclusion, while some people are of the opinion that state-of-the-art machinery results in joblessness, I would contend that technological advances are not the only reason for out-of-work inhabitants.