Television has changed the quality of life for an ordinary person. Do you agree or disagree ???

n the wake of technological advancement , Television proved to be an effective way of media. I agree that people's quality of life has been affected by TV programs in many aspects. This will be shown by analyzing how TV impacted watchers' cultural and foreign language deficiency as well as person's life style.

Firstly, TV shows helps audience to acquire brief overview about how inhabitants of other parts of the world live. Nowadays, with the availability of satellites, each TV screen can display various shows and documentary movies done by people from other nationalities and cultural backgrounds. These would help individuals to get to know about traditions, life style and beliefs of other communities , and thus narrow the cultural gap between societies. Such Information were hardly to get before invention of TV. For instance, I knew a lot about the Chinese customs from watching the famous TV series, The Orientals. Furthermore, TV comprises an invaluable tool for teaching foreign languages. There are bunch of programs produced in diverse languages by native speakers around the world which would assist in learning the proper pronunciation and vocabulary. Personally, I used to watch a well-known TV show, namely Mind Your Language, to master the British accent. On the other hand, in the pre-TV era people would travel overseas or mingle with tourists to attain the same benefit. Clearly, the aforementioned benefits would have been difficult to gain in the pre-TV period.

Secondly, watching TV transformed the life style of people. The TV is considered as an enticing recreation time for many, therefore some people started to have some sort of addiction to TV and attend it in excess on daily basis ; As a result, those people become gradually less physically active. A survey done by Cambridge university in 2016 found that 50% of adults spent 3-4 hours-a-day in front of TV screens. Additionally, TV affected the social interaction between people. In the past decades, as told by my grandparents, when there was no TV , people used to meet each other in their free time and make friendships. In contrast, nowadays there is an increasing tendency among people to choose TV over going out, eventually they might become socially secluded. Hence, it is obvious how the TV altered the active and social life style of certain proportion of people.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the introduction of TV has brought changes to human life in both positive and negative ways.