Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent do you think it has positively or negatively affected cultural development?

The recent upsurge in the use of television has posted a crucial controversy over the feasible damage to many countries’ culture. In my opinion, despite several abominable effects on features of communities, television is truly the source of knowledge for citizens.

On the one hand, television has undoubtedly been offering deplorable consequences concerning with culture of a society. Firstly, exotic and inappropriate traditions from abroad can be adopted which could possibly cause many injuries to a country’ culture. For example, compared to the past when almost all traditional days in Vietnam stem from the local community, people now more enjoy oversea customs such as Christmas Day or Valentine Day leading to degrading characteristics of its country. Moreover, distorted information on telecasts may mislead viewers, which not only exacerbate the belief of local citizens but also damage the reputation of a country.

On the other hand, Television, from my standpoint, still presents more satisfactory impacts on developing communities characteristics. Television, initially, impart knowledge about different cultures to a huge number of viewers. In particular, youngsters receive the biggest assistance from utilizing it because of updating the newest information on the world such as scholarships or occupations. Furthermore, outmoded cultural practices might be exposed thanks to television news, and, as a result, they would definitely be eradicated. This aids the cultural development of a nation.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that the deleterious impacts of television, I am still convinced that it brings more benefits than harms to communities in terms of culture.