Teleworking has been on the increase in recent years. Do youy think this is positive and negative development

With the rise of easy access to the Internet, more and more companies and government agencies have incorporated teleworking as a part of the work culture. This flexibility in work have created a plethora of benefits to employees and employers alike. However many suggest that such approach to work is unsustainable and is a negative development. From my perspective, this increase in remote-working is a step in the right direction in order to improve the work quality of the workers.

By and large, Teleworking is seen as the wave of the future for companies looking to increase production and reduce costs. The benefit that is most apparent is such home-based work will help to keep the office overheads down, the day-to-day running costs of air-conditioner, computers, and other office auxiliaries can be kept to a minimum as the workers will pay for their own energy usage at home. Additionally, this trend can also help to protect the environment. For example,hundreds if not thousands of personnel will not having to travel long distance to the office, thus saving on gas, oil as well as wear and tear on vehicles. Moreover, employees will also benefit from these advancements. This should increase work productivity and satisfaction while maintain the staff’s high levels of fulfillment. The pressure of time restraint will most likely be gone, the blue-collar worker can work while taking care of their families as well as not having to follow a strict and at times controlling timetable. furthermore, during times of the pandemic it Encourages a Safer Environment.Teleworking can also reduce the number of sick people coming into the office. Workers can have the option to work from home if they feel under the weather. This can potentially prevent the spread of illnesses in the office. They can also be productive without using sick leave hours.

On the contrary, it is not hard to see why working from home may poses some challenges. Remote working can seriously affect team-bonding between the workers. This is due to the absence of face-to-face interactions. Furthermore,it can also have an effect on the discipline of the company as a whole, the boss cannot have a tight grasp on the current situation of the employees and this can lead to terrible situations like sharing company secrets, fraud,etc. But in hindsight these shortcomings can be corrected with tight discipline from the higher-ups, careful monitoring, good welfare for the people working,etc.

To conclude, I believe the that the switch to teleworking can be helpful in overcoming the difficulties presented in the current day office. While it is true that there are a few drawbacks to this solution but it can be managed by the right approach. In the future it is likely that more companies will move to teleworking to increase flexibility and productivity.