[test]

In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

It is to be noted that there is a rapid increase in the numbers of those who are becoming older. Considering the fact that this would reflect in the cost of public healthcare negatively, it is assumed that the tax-payer has to shed more money to pay for their healthcare provisions in future. I too feel the same.

In order to understand the situation, one has to assess the social structure, which is continuously changing. In the past, the aged were respected and was included as an integral part of every family. However, the situation has now changed, as they are moved to specialised centres soon after geriatric problems appear on them. It should be also seen that the life expectancy has increased due to improvements in healthcare system.

The associated problem with this change, which is considered as the most pressing is the financial liabilities. To explain in further, when an aged person moves to a professional setup, naturally the cost of his health care and personal care would go higher. Initially, these costs can be covered by the person’s pension or retirement benefits, but later, it would most probably result in financial crises, which can hardly be bearable by a family in general.

Another factor which I would add to support my view is that governments can never escape from their responsibility to care these people. In fact these people, at their productive ages, worked hard for the overall development of their respective countries, and it is quite rational to think that the state has to return them something at their vulnerable age.

To conclude, it is a fact that the aging population and the cost of treating them are increasing simultaneously. When assessing the existing social and financial situations, it is most likely that the responsibility of bearing the expense of healthcare of this population would become greater on the tax-payer.