Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today we live in a globalized world with the developed technology, which we benefit from it to improve our life. However, many studies still see the concern of over-reliance on these technologies. Especially to teenagers, with an unmutual personalities they may be influenced by the inappropriate content or people on the internet. To me, I think letting teenagers to social online is not a right way to help them to build a healthy friendship with others.

The content on the internet sometimes can be too sensitive for teenagers. We cannot perfectly filter those content which may lead teenagers to believe something is not true or influences their personality unconsciously. Some teenagers with the lack of education or from a broken family could be targets to those bad people on the internet. Besides, it is clearly unhealthy if a teenager whose friends are mostly from the internet rather than in the real life, because this could result in the abnormal personality of escaping from the reality.

Although there are a lot of downsides of socialing online for teenagers, we should not give them a terrible impression of making friends online. Since the internet can build a connection between people in a very short time, we may not waste this opportunity to explore this world. A best example is that many people nowadays are learning languages online. These learners are not only improving their language skills but also meeting new people around the world. Making friends online is not a bad thing, it helps us broaden our horizons and let us connect to this world.

My opinion is clear that if a mutual individual who has properly educated is always encouraged to have a friendship online. Although I do not think that socialing online is appropriate for teenagers , however, I do believe that one day we will make this society better than ever so that it can be another option for teenagers to make new friends.