There are many advertisements directed at children. Parents argue that children are misled, while advertisers consider advertising a source of useful information. What is your opinion?

The impacts of advertising on children have become an area of focus in these years. When the initial purpose of advertising is to disseminate information related to goods and services, many parents have associated it with their children’s unjustified desires to buy something unnecessary. Although the extent to which advertising influences young viewers is a matter of debate, its impact, in my opinion, is undisputed.

One of the main features of advertisements is giving products an exaggerated account. In addition to this tactic, advertisers tend to stress those attributes of a product that are likely to be valued by young consumers, while playing down others. Some advertisements might disclose detailed information about products (such as health hazards of overeating some types of food), but in most cases, such information appears normally in small print and children cannot read them clearly. Nor can children comprehend the messages with their literacy skills. As a result, young viewers are susceptible to effects of a commercial, leading directly to their subsequent buying decisions or their thrust for buying.

Another main strategy adopted by advertisers is to associate products with lifestyles that are attractive to young people and deliver a strong message that the advertised products are what their peers want and will choose. Children are more concerned with a particular label and branded products that adults, for the simple reason that they are much less price sensitive. They have the desire to possess products they consider popular, fashionable and likely to be admired by their peers, but seldom take into consideration the functions and practical values of those products.

When the negative impacts of advertising on children are acknowledged, it should be noted that as children grow up, they will make more sophisticated judgments about those tactics advertisers used to grab their attention. They are less receptive to advertising messages and meanwhile more likely to perceive advertising as a mere source of information, assisting them to learn products and services better. Meanwhile, some advertisements are non-commercial and provide information on such issues as anti-smoking, anti-drug, AIDS, healthy eating practices, and so forth. In this sense, it is premature to judge that advertising has no redeeming feature.

To summary, by enhancing the image of advertised products, making exaggerated claims on products and services and portraying a fantastic way of life, advertising is liable for children’s impulsive purchases. Children are misguided to make a purchase. Although adolescents are less susceptible to the misleading information, the advertisements that are marketed to children should be restricted.