There are many advertisements directed at children. Parents argue that children are misled, while advertisers consider advertising a source of useful information. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, in the fast development of television media, newspapers and the Internet, people hold different opinions on the impact of advertisements on children. While parents think that they are untrue, other contend that advertising is of great value to provide children with a huge amount of useful information. Personally, I believe that they have both some potential benefits and drawbacks to the development of children.

On the one hand, it is said that advertisements might be advantageous to some extent with regard to children’s experiences. Firstly, children could draw inspiration from advertising programs as well as easily broaden their knowledge. This might be explained by the fact that commercial content is interesting which could address positive, beneficial behaviors, such as friendship, kindness, the protection of the environment and respect for other people and for animals. Secondly, advertisements on television and the growing popularity of online advertising that have lively animations are able to live up to children’s expectations and preferences for entertainment. “The Lego Movie”, which is an extended advertisement for Lego products, is one of the most successful example of a brilliant commercial and a great film. Not only the film offers children valuable lessons through the toy world but also send a message to parents that they could escape the monotony of the business world to spend time with their children by playing with Lego.

On the other hand, I believe that the negative impacts of the advertisements which aim mainly at a target audience of children and adolescents is undeniable. It is common knowledge that consumers, including parents and children, should be wary of the claims made in advertisements since such claims are often exaggerated. These would encourage children to persuade their parents to purchase the products shown in the commercials, whether useful or not. Consequently, the little ones, for example, tend to get obstinate if the product is not brought for them. In terms of children’s health, advertisement programs on the television could be a factor which affects on eating habits and food choices of youth. For instance, the likelihood of children consuming fattening food is high since the frequency of advertisements of snacks, junk food or fast food chains like KFC or Coca Cola has increased, which could be seen as a main reason for the increase of childhood obesity.

In conclusion, although advertisements could bring several benefits to children, it seems to me that the authorities and parents should take measures and regulations properly in order to safeguard children from the negative effects of advertising.