It is said that the fast pace of our everyday life, as a direct result of the rapid development of telecommunication technology and travel industry, has negative effects on individuals, nations and globe. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions on the impact of long-distance communication technology and travel industry on inhabitants, as well as national and global scales. While some people think that the development of these factors has disadvantages, I believe that they bring both various potential benefits and several drawbacks to our life.

Admittedly, advances in telecommunication technology and travelling have made fundamental changes to the way life operates which have some drawbacks. Firstly, it is common knowledge that the use of digital devices like mobile phones or laptops are so highly addictive that people could spend many hours browsing social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter to chat to others without a care in the world. As a result, the likelihood of individuals developing a sedentary life and being insulation from the community is high since this type of telecommunication may discourage them from direct interactions. Secondly, international criminals using online private connections could be seen as a challenge for governments. In fact, many authorities have to face to illegal border crossings or drug and weapon trade, which may cause social turmoil, political unrest and international friction.

Despite of negative impacts of telecommunication services and travel industry, I believe that they are great value for our socio-economic development. It is apparent that the innovations of technological gadgets have numerous functions that enable people to contact with everyone at ease regardless of geographical distance between them. For example, many applications such as Skype or Messenger offer video calls which allow overseas students to make use of to keep in touch with their parents at home. In terms of transportation and travelling, in recent decades there has been a substantial diversification in international tourism destinations, and many developing countries have experienced phenomenal growth in tourist arrivals and receipts. Consequently, not only can this achievement bring considerable source of income to community dwellers, contributing to the improvement of living standard of society as a whole, but also help build friendship and goodwill between nations.

In conclusion, although the rapid changes in telecommunication systems and travel industry causes several problems, it seems to me that their positive impacts on our daily life and international connections are undeniable.