There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

There is an avalanche of music genres for various tastes of individuals from different backgrounds in today's globalized world. There seem to be three main reasons for which we need music, and it is believed that the local music of a country is much more valuable than the international music.

Perhaps the main reason is that music acts as a powerful social glue. This is because music can increase our sense of community and prosocial behavior, resulting in social cohesion and greater positive emotions. Take Jazz as a well-known example that how it brought people together who had different political ideologies in the USA in the 1970s. Furthermore, we need music as it can help develop our intellectual capabilities and enhance our mood. For example, ranging from singing a lullaby to a baby to playing musical instruments can make a considerable contribution to the advanced cognitive and emotional abilities of the baby and musician. More importantly, through the course of history, human beings, whether troglodytes or modern man, has always employed music as a means of communication, making it a special language.

It is true that international music in today's world when there are no boundaries among countries considered being important as a tool to unite black and white people as well as wealthy and impoverished people, whereas traditional music represents a nation's cultural heritage, which is vital to identify the history of the nation and its citizens, and then should be taken much more serious. In fact, music is one of the main parts of a county's culture like language, so without it, we would have an incomplete picture of the country's identity. This is because traditional forms of music contain the myth, story, and destiny of a group or an ethnicity, by studying it, scientists can collate valuable information.

In conclusion, I believe that local music as representing a nation's culture is of great importance, and we need music itself as has been used for communication and alliance since the dawn of humanity.