There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars ?

The amount of cars being used has undesirable consequences for the environment and social life as well as for the people’s health and well-being. Although having a car is seen as a popular trend and a desirable option, there are measures that governments can adopt to dissuade people from using their cars.

One of the most effective methods is to make cars more expensive to purchase and use. For instance, taxing heavily on the cars at the point of purchase or the road tax. Moreover, increasing the expenditure related to cars such as accessories, petrol consumption. With this measure, people might reduce the accumulation of cars in the unnecessary trips and they have to consider carefully before driving it. However, for example, in Vietnam, this method will unlikely to have a major impact if alternative means of transport are not in common.

Another way to discourage people from using their cars is to encourage them to use public transports such as buses, trains, etc. According to a survey, Japan, for instance, where alternative transports systems are offered, car use rates are lower and less congestion on highways; the air is fresh as well. Most of the inhabitants are willing to choose the subway or bus to travel because public transports have a lower price, are more convenient and reliable than driving cars. Therefore, governments could invest more in infrastructure and transport system design and construction in order to ensure adequate and decrease the consequences for the people and environment.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of purchasing a car and encouraging people to use public transport could be an effective way of reducing car consumption and a sustainable way of achieving this goal.