There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family.

What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

It has, now, behind a trend to have a smaller family instead of a larger family. Advantages of this includes reduced financial burden and improved quality of life; whereas lack of emotional support and socializing skills are its disadvantages.

In case of small family, the financial burden of the earning member of the family reduces significantly. The amount of money required to run a family, be it for food or clothing or education, totally depends on the number of family members, and this being the case, lesser the number of family members, lesser the expenses required. Furthermore, the quality of life of each member of a family improves when it is a micro family. Since the availability of resources, whether it is money or food, is shared among a few, more the average of the resources one receives. In the UK, the child from single child family had luxurious life than the child from two or more children family.

On the other hand, small families tend to lack emotional support. Living in a restricted circle of family with closely related people narrows the amount of love and support a person receives. Moreover, the absence of second and third order relations within a family makes it difficult for an individual to socialize with relatives during family get-togethers or any other events. For instance, had I not lived with my cousins, I would have found it difficult to get along with them.

In conclusion, nevertheless, the trend of having a small family increases, as it benefits the breadwinner of the family by reducing family's expenses and the individual family member with a quality life. it also has certain drawbacks including the lack of love and support a person gets from being in a larger family.