There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money.

Do you feel that this is a good or a bad thing?

Thanks to the increment of Internet, we can enjoy free music, films, books and art works, which certainly cannot provide income for the owners. Therefore, this remains a source of constant debate on the copyright of artworks. Although I agree that artists should be compensated for their works, I still believe that some artworks can be published for free.

First and foremost, a successful artist these days must be well-known, widely-recognized prior to they want to earn money from public while online publications can boost their popularity. Many young people understand this secret and become idols all over the world by distributing licensed work online. For example, they spread their songs to 100 million people in only 1 hour, which was hardly achieved in the past. When their work is popular, they can make their livings by advertising, being representatives of super brands or it's YouTube, who pays according to the number of views.

On the other hands, this type of distribution has some negative consequences. It is clear that the owners have to spend their time, effort to make their works or even hire facilities, agencies to publish them. In the past, singers or song writers' income was from selling cassette of music, selling show tickets,... while such works nowadays are easily pirated and posted for all, which leads to the fact that a significant amount of money and time may be lost. It is unfair for artists that their creativity and brainpower are not as well paid as it is deserved.

In conclusion, it may be stated that the online circulation of copyrighted work has both beneficial and harmful consequences. In my opinion, it depends on the artists who can decide whether their works can be published free or not. New artists needing the recognition from community can choose free online dissemination while others may prefer that their works are accessed only by paying.