There is a problem today that copyright materials, such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or bad thing?

The issue of whether or not it is beneficial that copyright items can be accessed for free online—despite the fact that their owners cannot profit from this—is being debated. There are advantages and disadvantages to this scenario, in my opinion.

On the one hand, newly talented artists who are unknown to the public may benefit from the open availability of copyright content. Consumers typically avoid purchasing works about which they know insufficient details about the producers, such as the singing style of a singer, the writing style of an author, or the degree of talent possessed by an actor in a motion picture. Many people would find it reasonable to view the works of these up-and-coming artists just once, then decide whether or not to purchase those pieces based on criteria and areas of interest. Many individuals should be careful not to waste their money and should not place their blind confidence in artwork. Free access to copyright-protected content, in my opinion, can be a great way for up-and-coming artists to gain recognition and make their debut. After some time, this scenario may enable them to gain recognition from the public and sell their subsequent works to cover their initial expenses. Additionally, I think that in order to make their new works easily obtainable, even established artists ought to grant users free access to a small portion of them. This is due to the fact that acceptance of an artist's body of work is not guaranteed.

Regardless of some advantages of free copyright materials mentioned above, it can be said that this distribution has several disadvantages that I mention the most important one. We have to consider that one of the reasons of creation of such limitation is that copyright allows the creator to derive economic profit from their works. This financial incentive not only can reward the artists ‘efforts but also can encourage the production of new and divers works. But when such works are made freely available, artists naturally become less motivated to create more since they no longer see their labor as fulfilling or a means of achieving their goals. Artists in this circumstance will be wounded and angry because they do not make enough money to cover the expense of renting or purchasing equipment. Furthermore, a lot of people take advantage of this circumstance and replicate free works just because they have easy access to them.

In conclusion, I believe it would be preferable if the owners of the works made the decision to determine whether or not the copyright materials are available for free online, allowing them to assess the advantages and disadvantages of the situation in accordance with their position.