There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Over the past years, the incidences of serious crimes have grown so noticeable that they now call for immediate action. A small group of people argue that capital punishment is the right way to deal with this phenomenon whereas others think that we should consider some other alternatives. I personally believe that offenders have a right to live however bad their crime is.

On the one hand, some might argue that serious criminals should be sentenced to death to make an example for other would-be offenders. This is because some people with tendencies to commit a crime may not fully realize the consequences of their criminal actions unless they see others suffer a severe penalty. It is true that in countries such as China and Japan, where the death penalty is practiced for felons convicted of serious crimes, there is a lower rate of capital crimes like homicide, child kidnapping, drug smuggling, and human trafficking. For these reasons, one might be in favor of the idea of implementing an extreme measure such as this.

However, I would like to think that everyone deserves a chance to a fair trial to make their case, be heard, and seek redemption. We have heard stories of people who become complicit in bad crimes because they were knocked into a different life than they intended. Therefore, rather than make them pay for their wrongdoings with their lives, we should give them a chance to understand their faults and help them rectify them through community work or by working with the victims of their crimes. Alternatively, offenders of crimes of this nature can be sent to more rigorously monitored penitentiaries where they face greater restrictions than average criminals do.

In conclusion, despite the argument put forward in favor of applying the death penalty in serious criminal cases, I am personally against it as I believe that a criminal offender of any kind deserves another chance to make amends and be again an accepted member of society.