Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to consumers.

Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, food is transported long distances before being sold to consumers. This essay will discuss the reasons why this happens and whether this is a positive or negative development.

There are several changes that have happened to society that have led to food being transported longer distances than in the past. Firstly, a lot of previously fertile areas have been damaged due to pollution and development. As a result, many local communities now have no choice but to eat food grown in faraway places. A second cause is the fact that in modern times, people have begun moving to cities. Naturally, the food requirements of today’s cities are enormous, so growing food locally is not realistic.

I believe that the change toward eating food that has been transported long distances has been overall detrimental. This is because the process for storing and transporting food affects the quality of the food itself. For example, if fruits are picked when they are ripe, the transportation process will bruise and damage them. The only solution is to pick the fruit when it is not fully ripened, which results in fruit that does not taste as sweet as if it was picked locally. Furthermore, when food is frozen, which is a common requirement when transporting it long distances, the nutritional value decreases.

In conclusion, the causes of the change in the way food is transported are land degradation and the urbanization of the global population, and I would argue that this is a negative development because of the negative effects this has had on the flavor and nutritional value of modern food.