There is a trend of increasing competitiveness in today’s society. In your opinion, is it a good or a bad development?

These days witness an upward trend in competitiveness as more competitions are held in the community. While some pessimists suppose that the phenomenon affects the society negatively, I am of the opinion that it is a good development.

On the one hand, there are many downsides of the increase in competitiveness. Firstly, when more competitions are held, the standard to achieve success is likely to rise. Some competitors may find it impossible to complete the target so they tend to not make an effort to reach success. As a consequence, their productivity may be comparatively low which can affect the business growth. Moreover, when the standards are rising, some people may encounter stress and anxiety so they push themselves too hard in working and studying. This action can have a detrimental effect on one's health as they may suffer strain because of lacking exercise and relaxation.

On the other hand, more competitiveness also has many benefits to our community. Firstly, it activates a sense of excitement within one competitor. To explain, when one witnesses others' achievement, he is fed a constant supply of ambition so he tends to work hard to accomplish goals. It is considered a motivation to make one try his best to gain more product. As a result, competitiveness can boost the world's progress so the living standard of humans can become better. A student, for instance, when encountering a competition may study hard to gain the award so education can be improved.

In conclusion, the growth of competitiveness can lead to one's health problems or the inefficiency of a company. However, I reckon that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks since it betters humans' living standard.