These days many advertisements are aimed at children What effect do you think they have Should advertising to children be more controlled and regulated

In today’s competitive world, the only thing that matters to marketers is the ability to make a product stand out from the lot. To achieve this, they go to great lengths to impress the viewers, regardless of their age, which make children the main victim. Although advertisements affect children in various ways, I believe advertisements should be carefully chosen and managed.

On the one hand, the negative impacts of advertisements on the eating habits and personality of the child are numerous. In terms of personality, advertisements portray stunts to make the product more appealing, and thus children try to imitate the same kinds of act, leading to hurt themselves. Advertisements can also spoil children by persuading them to fall for the thing they don’t even need or by making children keep badgering their parents to purchase whatever they see on ads. Another negative influence of advertising is on the eating habits of the children. Marketers always advertise junk foods that are visually eye-catching. The result of this is the impulse buying habit in young minds that may cost their health and physical development.

On the other hand, to mitigate the impact, advertisers must consider some factors like age and health of the viewers especially young ones whose lifestyle may be affected in some way. In respect to age, some types of advertisements must be presented at certain time of day when children are at school or at bed, so they may be less exposed to. Another factor that advertisers must bear in mind is the health of the children who are supposed to eat products having less nutritious value, which in turn lead to their lack of mental and physical function. Therefore, advertisers must be very cautious about the things they advertise.

In conclusion, I do agree that advertising has negative influence on the beautiful mind of children, but I think these negative consequences of advertisement can be managed and controlled.