Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different views about environmental problems. While the decline in number of plants and animals’ species can disrupt the ecosystem. I agree with those who believe that other environmental issues are also important.

There are some reasons why the extension of animal and plants species has a grave impact on the health of ecosystem. The main reason for this phenomenon is loss of natural habitat, which is accelerating with the increase in human population. As human population grows, so does the demand for food, housing and urban development, and thus people begin to consume natural land for urban sprawl and agricultural purposes, which in turn leads to habitat destruction. Urbanization and deforestation also give rise to global warming. The process by which, the temperature of climate begins to rise, shifting the timing of seasons and melting the ice at both North and South Pole. The change that brings on extinction of every living creature on the face of earth.

Despite the above argument, I also believe other pollution problems are as significant as the views mentioned above. For example, fossil fuel or carbon dioxide emitted into the air by industrial zones and motor vehicles can contribute to the death of many species, including human. As they contain large amount of pollutants affecting the quality of air, people especially those with preexisting conditions find it hard to breath in such polluted air. Plastic pollution can also harm the environment as it takes years to decompose, so its effects on the nature is as detrimental as other pollution, not to mention its extensive environmental degradation on appearance of natural landscape. Due to long lasting impact of such pollutions on environment, some living organism are about to experience death.

In conclusion, I believe animal and plant extinction cause problem for ecosystem to function properly, but I agree that they are not the only ones.