These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

The issue of future profession has always aroused heated debates among graduates from linguistic faculties. According to the statistics a small fraction of alumni in the modern society choose teaching at secondary schools. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with pedagogue’s career and propose some possible solutions to avoid them.

It is common knowledge in the highly technological world adults not only have serious difficulties with their kids’ upbringing but also treat educators as attendants to their youngsters. Community’s attitude toward teachers has dramatically changed as humans started to associate the latters with service staff. Firstly, contemporary pupils are convinced by mothers and fathers of their dominant role at school in any situation. For instance, a boy behaves disgustingly at the lesson and a conflict occurs between this child and a teacher. When solving the problem at the headmaster’s office no one tries to consider teacher’s viewpoint whilst parents insist on son’s innocence. So does the principal and the only person to blame is the teacher. Secondly, nowadays money plays the most crucial role and the majority of wealthy human beings are confident they are able to teach children without any motivation and aspiration. For example, once at the parent meeting I was asked whether it was possible to cover all unsatisfactory marks with a certain amount of money. Hence, parents are eager to cope with the generation gap which exists between them and their kids at the expense of teachers’ reputation and merit.

Despite misunderstanding between parents and teachers is gaining momentum, they shouldn’t underestimate the opportunities academics possess which can be used to manage with the trouble. First and foremost, the government is expected to redefine schoolmasters’ importance in the social environment as well as their pay level. Within the frame of this approach worldwide politics vote for school workers’ salary increase. For instance, official income of a teacher in our school enhanced twice in comparison with 2010. States try to improve financial stability of this sphere. On the other hand, labor unions intensify their impact on tutors’ confidence and provide school specialists with protection. For example, my colleague received defence from education community in a controversial situation she faced with and became grateful for the support. Thus, teachers start realizing their importance and relevance in educational process.

All things considered, the obvious conclusion to be drawn is that today teachers remain an inalienable part of children’s lives. Although population talk about technical facilities which gradually replace some teachers’ functions yet families need qualified specialists who can help overcome the stage of youth’s personal formation. Every country has possibilities to create productive environment for academic personnel in order to let them feel confident, efficient and optimistic. Only such atmosphere can persuade students to get involved in teaching.