Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

Images broadcast in the media have always played a crucial part in forming the model of human behavior. Some people believe that violent behavior shown in games and shows negatively impacts a person, while others suppose no harm is experienced as actions on the screen cannot traumatize anyone. I am convinced that information transmitted through any means of communication can impair due to the reasons mentioned hereinafter.

To commence with, exposure to violent TV shows can affect cripplingly on society. In computer games and films the image of the villain and their crimes is predominantly romanticized, which leads to an increase in tolerance for such offenses in real life. For example, the survey conducted by the TASS reports that people consuming fierce programs become tolerant towards violence and in the end grow desensitized to brutality over time. Thus, shows that focus on abuse negatively influence the psychological well-being of the audience.

Although there is an opinion that a person acts from their motives, regardless what they see on the broadcast, I doubt it. Youngsters with an unformed worldview seem to be prone to throw the severe images from movies and games onto the surrounding reality and themselves that leads to negative consequences. For instance, according to «Phycology of game » by Elkonin D.B. the control gained by players with a narrative involving bloodshed increases aggression both in real and digital words of 11-year-old. Thereby, the cruelty permanently broadcasted through the pictures and games exert pressure on the immature mind of teenagers.

To summarize, the hatred shown in games and programs provides a detrimental effect on the emotional state of the audience. Scenes of violence especially affect immature personalities and might trigger a devastating effect on the moral character of members of society.