These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools.

What are the reasons for this,and how could the problem be solved?

Teaching used to be one of the most appealing and rewarding job, but nowadays many countries are facing teachers shortage issue, especially in elementary school. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons which lead to this problem, and solutions to solve it.

First of all, low salaries might be one of the main reasons why more and more people are reluctant to join teaching industry. In comparision, teachers earn less than those who work in other career such as financial, construction and technology. In some nations, instructors’ salary barely covers the necessities in life. As a result, they had to find another part-time jobs or even provide extra classes to earn more money for their families, which make they feel exhausted. A solution is for the government to increase teachers’ salary and give more remuneration so that their lives can be ensured. For example, in Singapore, the government has granted a variety of welfare for teachers, thus, being teachers is one of the top choice for new graduates.

The problem could also be ascribed to the highly burden of work that schools and parents are posed on teachers. It is common that an instructor work more than eight hours per day programming the class curriculum , marking students’ performances and lecturing. However, their contributions are usually be left when a student failed the exams as the public used to blame on teachers’ teaching skills despite the fact that students have to take responsible for their study. Consequently, some instructors might feel stresses, and even find it more difficult to maintain a work – life balance. The way forward might be to apply technology to help with the work load. Also, creating a community for teachers to share their work- life stories could help reduce job difficulties and motivate more people to join this industry.

To conclude, teachers shortage is now becoming one of the biggest issues facing education. However, this problem can be solved if the government provide better policies and raise people acknowledge of teachers’ high society status.