These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Recently, many countries have seen a significant fall in the number of people who choose the career of a teacher. Especially, some secondary schools nowadays lack teachers that they have to assign one teacher to teach many subjects. As this trend is so alarming, it is important for the policy makers to identify the reasons and address them thoroughly.

There are some explanations for this concerning problem. To start with, the incomes of teachers may be too low compared to the effort they make. In order to attend an university of education, students have to be excellent when they are in high school and enthusiastic in the career. However, their salaries tend to be much lower than people who study subjects such as business and management, which have lower entrance requirements. Furthermore, it is increasingly difficult for teachers to teach lessons in their favourite style. This could be attributed to the unified education system, which requires all students to learn the same knowledge, with the predetermined way of teaching. As a result, the creativity and enthusiasm of teachers might be hindered, making the job of teaching less desirable for most people.

Having the causes of the issue discussed, solutions can now be given accordingly. First of all, it is crucial for the government to raise teachers’ salaries. At first, this may appear to be expensive; nonetheless, in the long term, investments in education is likely to pay off and benefit the country considerably. In addition, the regulations applied to teachers also need relaxing. By doing this, teachers can hopefully deliver the lessons comfortably, which fosters people’s interests in this job. Consequently, the number of students attending education courses would be regained.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that low incomes and the restricted lecturing style are the main reasons that discourage people to become teachers. Therefore, the government should come up with measures which directly deal with them so that the career of a teacher could be more favourable.