These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

A new trend has been developing in which women represent the workforce while the males care for the kids. Shifts in society have allowed for this to happen, the change of roles and the position of women in the market, forces men to do the work once done by women. I believe this is a positive outcome, especially for the relationship between children and parents.

There are several reasons that justify the fact that fathers are spending more time at home being responsible for their children, one of them is the market. Constantly evolving commerce calls for business to adapt to its need, automation and industrial machinery have left many men jobless obligating women to be the providers of the household. On the same line, because women got increasingly involved with places of power within the offices, more often than not, they are required to return to their post after childbirth.

Personally, I advocate towards this new trend. It has been shown that fathers are also a key element in the up-bringing of a child. The more time they spend together the better the bond they create. Until recently, children were just a matter of women; men did not have any role in the education of them, perhaps just a monetary one. Since this new approach, men now have to learn how to communicate and relate with their offspring, creating a beautiful space to build a meaningful connection.

In conclusion, due to the evolution of the society and the market, fathers raising children is an everyday matter. I think this represents many advantages, not only to society but also to the relation between boys, girls and adults.