The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear energy overweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Nuclear power can be harnessed as an instrument to remain global peace and supply humankind as a low-cost and safe source of energy, which is believed that offer more merits than risks. I completely agree with this statement. The justifications for this belief will be elaborated below.

It is understandable why some people do not advocate to the use of nuclear energy. The first rationale is that political leaders who are war enthusiasts would actually encourage to deploy weapons with nuclear war-headed missiles or bombs in unnecessary situations. This may soon escalate to a total war among major powers and finally result in the vast destruction of the planet. Furthermore, there is a chance that nuclear weapons could fell into the hands of terrorists, those are likely to use them in order to harm innocent citizens. An additional point is that nuclear power if not managed properly would place humans and habitats at a great risk of damage. To illustrate, explosion of a nuclear power plant in Ukraine took lives of hundreds of people and cost billions of dollars to retain safety for nearby regions. Thus, the pitfalls of nuclear energy may be the reasons why it is not widely exploited globally.

However, these thinkings are flawed as public awareness has been raised and with advent of technology in the nuclear field, there are less possibility that nuclear war-heads are deployed and production of nuclear powers are safer than ever. Even though there are some researches on stronger weapons such as heated bombs, yet nuclear weapons are of primary important to maintain the balance of the world. The authorities of would consider carefully consequences before conducting a war against other nations or the nations’ allies that armed with the highly-damaged weapons. Similarly, there are no viable alternatives for nuclear energy for the time being. Water, wind, waves generated energy are not capable of producing large volume with controlled amount of energy as nuclear power. More importantly, with its low-cost manufacture and limited waste, production of energy from nuclear power is more efficient than other forms of processing energy.

In sum, nuclear arms could be used by criminals and misuse of energy power could cause great threat to the public. However, the position of weapons and energy made by nuclear is vital for the development of human beings.