Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past Why do you think this happens Is this a positive or a negative change

Television has been a great source of entertainment for juniors to seniors since it's invention. Presently, time duration of watching TV in younger group is ever increasing, which is not mainly observed in metropolitan areas but also in rural or suburban region. This essay intends to discuss potential reasons and mention this trend has considerable downsides rather than perks.

Firstly, today television is flooded with channels serving lucrative programs such as cartoon, dancing and singing reality shows, which allure kids. Secondly, some parents allow their infants to watch TV for longer hrs and restrict them to play outdoor sports considering their safety and security. For instance, survey conducted by Cambridge University cites that 77 children out of 100 opted to stay indoor for watching TV against playing outdoor games. Undoubtedly, this scenario was totally reverse few decades ago. Thus, this makes it clear that currently the tendency among children to spend hours in front of television screen has been surged significantly.

As the famous adage goes, excess of anything is bad; which is absolutely right in this case. Spending greater amount of time watching television leads to sedentary lifestyle which ultimately causes premature disease in tender age such as obesity. In addition, it doesn't only affect their social skills but also the eyesight of children; which could be harmful in the long run. For example, as per recent research carried by National Eye Care organization, blur vision issue has become surprisingly common among kids due to which they need to wear glasses from an early age. Unfortunately, this ratio was completely opposite in past. From this, it become quite evident that current practice of watching TV has caused few adverse effects on health of little ones.

In summary, parents should encourage their offspring to indulge in outdoor activities, and also restrict them from spending major time in front of television screen. Entertainment is essential for holistic development of young lives but since demerits of watching TV for long hours is weightier than merits, boundaries should be formed and followed. It is predicted that future generation may take this subject seriously and apply preventive measures effectively.