Today food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this era, food is transported a long distance before meeting its consumers. This development takes place thanks to the advancement in preservation techniques and efficient transportation of food. Personally, despite some trivial effect on the environment, this trend is generally positive

Food can be carried on massive routes because of the evolution of refrigeration and transportation. Since its introduction, refrigeration has evolved to the point of reaching the optimum as it consumes less energy for more effective cooling, helping preserve food an extended period. Moreover, transportation is now immensely energy-efficient, being able to carry a host of goods at a lower cost of fuel. When these two factors align, food can now be transported worldwide, creating the mentioned development

By and large, this development brings a large scale of benefits to both customers and manufacturers while posing some threats to the environment. For customers, food that is not locally grown in one nation is now can be consumed, boosting the spending per capita and provide them more choices and satisfaction. In addition, manufacturers can observe a huge surge in demand, allowing them to escalate production and gaining more profit. Nonetheless, this development entails a greater amount of gas such as nitrogen and carbon dioxide released from transporations, which is immensely devastating for the ecosystem, a problem that the world has yet to give a solution

To conclude, it is fascinating to see food traveling internationally before reaching its cutomers with the core fosters being people’s demand and techonogy. Although this development may carry the risk of increasing the carbon footprint, it is still dwarfed by the positivity for multiple reasons . Specifically, the further the food is transported, the more cuisines being eaten in one nation, which helps manufacturers gain more profit