Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, thanks to worldwide integration, food import has been a convention for the majority of countries. However, while there is a debate about the trend, I believe this is beneficial for the people. This essay will explain the reasons for my statement.

At first glance, it is true that invasion of international products would raise competitiveness in Food and Beverage market for the private sector. However, this adverse effect can actually be controlled by government regulations about tax and other fiscal policies.

On the other hand, to consume outsider food has enormous advantages to residents. Firstly, one nation can avoid or solve unexpected food shortage. Famine usually occurs when consumption exceeds the domestic production. Using an unlimited source of food from other countries, poor people would have a sufficient amount to maintain their lives. Therefore, nations with high population, such as China or the United States, usually import from numerous parts of the world.

Furthermore, selling produces from other regions provides consumers with a wider variety of choice. As many fruits are regional or even endemic to several areas, import for such food may give buyers access to rare production, consequently enrich the experience. For example, the exotic fruits could only be tasted in Southeast Asians countries but at present they are transferred frequently oversea to America and European bloc. Finally, more types of food also benefit users who are following particular dietary regimes such as vegetarianism, since fruit and vegetable range is now larger, making them less repetitive.

In conclusion, although importing food may cause several obstacles, it benefits both the government and the citizens in many areas. Therefore, I believe this is a positive development and authorities should encourage it reasonably.