Today, many people do not know their neighbors.

Why is this?

What can be done about this?

In the current society there is a common issue that people live together in the residential area, but almost of them seem not to realize each other or even lack of sense of community. From my perspective this problem can be derived from distinctive reasons including of subjective and objective factors and this can be palliated by several appropriate methods.

To begin with, people are living in the contemporary era with the advancement and formulation of technological devices which are extremely helpful to the daily life of individuals. However, this is also the factor that leads to the deficiency of connection between each neighbor. With the assistance of the high-tech gadgets, it enables humans to do multiple tasks at home without commuting to workplace, so people have less opportunities to go out and strike up a conversation with each other in their neighborhood. Moreover, people seem to immerse themselves in the virtual world, which prevent them from connecting to their acquaintances and result in the decline of relationships because they almost spend time texting to their friends instead of meeting face to face.

This modern tendency can be countered by more communal activities. In terms of local authority, they should encourage the residents in each residential area to involve in more festivals and musical events, so that everyone is able to communicate to each other and strengthening bond between each neighbor. For instance, the local government organizes the festivals with numerous games that require team-working between each member, so that the connection can be improved noticeably. Turning to individuals, they should engage in more communal activities or create some handmade gift to send it to each neighbor in their living zone, which can contribute to improve the relationship of every member in the neighborhood.

In short, people in the current society have tendency to stay at home and use social media as their recreational activity, which lead to less interaction with other neighbors, so more communal events should be promoted widely.